Extraordinary Meeting of the Council – 19 February 2013

Present -The Mayor – Councillor Ivan Glover

Councillors Ali, Allcock, Armitage, Bainbridge, Barker,  J Briggs, Mrs Bromby, Bunyan, Carlile, Clark, Collinson, Davison, Eckhardt, Ellerby, England, Evison, L Foster, T Foster,  Godfrey, Gosling, Grant, Jawaid, Kataria, Kirk, Marper, Ogg, Oldfield, O’Sullivan, Poole, Mrs Redfern, Robinson, Rowson, N Sherwood,  Swift, K Vickers,  P Vickers, Waltham, Wardle, Wells, Whiteley and Wilson.

The council met at the Civic Centre Ashby Road, Scunthorpe.

2168  DECLARATIONS OF DISCLOSABLE PECUNIARY INTERESTS AND PERSONAL OR PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS – Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and Personal or Personal and Prejudicial Interests were indicated as follows –

Member Subject/Minute
Councillor S Armitage Westcliffe Neighbourhood Drop in Centre – Management Committee
Councillor J Briggs Humberside Fire Authority – Member
Councillor P Carlile Westcliffe Neighbourhood Drop in Centre – Management Committee
Councillor J Collinson Diocese of Lincoln – Representative
Councillor T Ellerby South Humber Racial Equality Council – Vice Chair
Councillor J England Humberside Police and Crime Panel – Member
Councillor T Foster Humberside Police and Crime Panel – Member
Councillor I Jawaid South Humber Racial Equality Council – Member
Councillor Mrs E Redfern North Lincolnshire Homes – Member

Councillor P Vickers

Humberside Fire Authority – Member

CHAMP – Member


Councillor R Waltham

Humberside Fire Authority – Member

North Lincolnshire Homes – Member

Having declared personal and prejudicial interests Councillors Armitage, Carlile and P Vickers left the meeting and took no part in the discussion and voting on the matter.

2169  PROCEDURE RULE D1.19(s) – It was moved by Councillor England and seconded by Councillor Poole –

That in view of the importance of this matter and the interest it has generated – evidenced by the number of members of the public who are in attendance, I believe that all members who have put down to speak on it should have sufficient time to express themselves.

I move therefore that under Procedure Rule D1.19(s) all the members listed to speak on this matter should be allowed up to ten minutes to deliver their speeches.

Motion Carried

Moved by Councillor Gosling and seconded by Councillor Collinson –

“Given the level of interest in the future of Youth Service provision in North Lincolnshire, particularly the well documented concerns of young people about the proposals, as evidenced within the media and in the recent scrutiny panel call in, this council calls on the Cabinet Member for People and the leadership of the council to re-consider the decisions contained in Minute 44 of 11 January 2013 – Transformation of the Youth Service.

This council also urges the Cabinet Member to carry out full, detailed, open and transparent consultations with all stakeholders and particularly the young people of North Lincolnshire which includes the development of ‘in house’ provision to identify their needs and aspirations for the future of the service – a service which should be geared to meet their needs”.

Moved by Councillor Waltham and seconded by Councillor Mrs Redfern as an amendment –

“This Council welcomes and fully supports the £100,000 increase in investment in activities for young people arising from the Youth Service review and also thanks the 2220 young people for taking part in the consultation

We welcome the additional 16 new posts created which will provide out reach to support young people who are most likely to undertake risky behaviours.

This Council is committed to delivering positive activities that meets the aspirations of our young people in North Lincolnshire and rewards their aspirations through a range of accredited awards including the Duke of Edinburgh Scheme.  Furthermore, the additional sessions and venues provided in the revitalised and re-energised provision is welcomed, and include:

  • Barton provision will increase from 3 nights to 4 nights
  • Winterton provision will increase from 3 nights to 4 nights
  • Crowle provision will increase from 3 nights to 4 nights (2 chill sessions)
  • Epworth provision will increase from 3 nights to 4 nights
  • Brigg provision will increase from 3 nights to 4 nights
  • Kirton in Lindsey provision from 2 nights per week and 1 Friday night per month to 3 nights per week
  • Mobile provision to rural villages will be maintained
  • Scunthorpe provision will increase from 5 to 8 venues, and will increase from 13 sessions to 18 sessions per week with a commitment to find a new venue in Ashby for the first time bringing the sessions to 20 per week.
  • Increased provision for disabled young people

This Council welcomes the ongoing consultation with young people which will enable them to set the evenings and activities they choose for their local centre.

Furthermore, this Council notes the despicable action of the previous Labour administration in February 2011 when the cut the budget for youth provision by £194,510 without any consultation with young people”.

During the course of the debate it was –

Moved by Councillor Swift and seconded by Councillor Kirk –

That in accordance with Procedure Rule D.19(l) the council’s Procedure Rules be suspended to enable a member of the protestors to speak for up to ten minutes.

Motion Carried

A representative of the young people in attendance then spoke about the proposed transformation of the Youth Service.

Following completion of the debate the council proceeded to vote on the amendment.

At the request of members and in accordance with Procedure Rule 1.23(d) the names of members voting for, against and abstaining from the amendment are as follows –

FOR:  Councillors Allcock, Briggs, Mrs Bromby, Bunyan, Clark, Eckhardt, England, Evison, T Foster, Glover, Marper, Ogg, Poole, Mrs Redfern, Robinson, Rowson, N Sherwood, K Vickers, Waltham, Wardle and Wells.

AGAINST:  Councillors Ali, Bainbridge, Barker, Collinson, Davison, Ellerby, L Foster, Godfrey, Gosling, Grant, Jawaid, Kataria, Kirk, Oldfield, O’Sullivan, Swift, Whiteley and Wilson.


Amendment Carried
Substantive Motion Carried