Standards Committee – 14 June 2012

Chairman:  Mr W Harvie

Venue:  Function Room 1, Civic Centre, Scunthorpe
Time:  2 pm


1.  Substitutions (if any)

2.  Declarations of Personal or Personal and Prejudicial Interests, if any.

3.  To take the minutes of the meeting held on 22 March 2012 as a correct record and authorise the chair to sign.

4.  Complaints update.

5.  The Localism Act 2011 (oral update).

6.  Any other items which the chairman decides are urgent by reason of special circumstances which must be specified


PRESENT:  Mr W Harvie (in the chair), Councillors Eckhardt, Ogg, Poole,  Wells and Whiteley.
Mrs Y Aubrey and Messrs J Kitwood and R Nixon.

The committee met at the Civic Centre, Scunthorpe

278  DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL OR PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS – Councillors Wells and Whiteley declared a personal interest in Minute 282 as members of the Executive Committee of ERNLLCA.

279  MINUTES – Resolved – That the minutes of the meeting of this committee held on 22 March 2012, having been printed and circulated amongst the members, be taken as read and correctly recorded and be signed by the chairman.

280  (1) COMPLAINTS UPDATE – The Monitoring Officer submitted a report updating the committee on progress made with complaints received.

Four complaints were still to be concluded and the Monitoring Officer summarised action currently being taken and scheduled to be taken to address these.

Resolved – That the report be noted.

281  THE LOCALISM ACT 2011 – Further to Minute 277, the Monitoring Officer reported on subsequent developments. The Annual Meeting of council had approved a Code of Conduct, subject to necessary amendments arising from Regulations relating to Disclosable Pecuniary Interests. Those Regulations had now been received and work was ongoing on the Code and arrangements for implementing it and advising and training members of the council and Parish and Town clerks The council had also appointed an Independent Person, Mr J Goolden and a reserve Mr R Johnson.

Resolved  – That the report be noted.

282  VOTE OF THANKS TO OUTGOING MEMBERS – Councillor Poole proposed a formal vote of thanks to the current and previous Independent and Parish members. The chairman replied accordingly.